AAS Recent Travel Fellowships Awardees

Travel Fellowships


The American Autonomic Society is committed to supporting trainees and junior members of the society seeking to pursue a career in clinical or basic autonomic research – one way in which this is achieved is through travel fellowships provided by the society and our sponsors to facilitate trainee attendance and presentation at American Autonomic Society meetings. See below for a few of our recent awardees and the great work they are conducting:

2016 27th International Symposium of the American Autonomic Society (San Diego, USA)

Streeten Travel Fellowship Award

Awardee: Kana Fujii

Presentation: Carotid body denervation prevents the worsening of cardiac function and heart failure in rat models of myocardial infarction and hypertension.


Penaz‐Wesseling Travel Awards

Awardee: Brooke Hockin
Presentation: The optimal intermittent calf compression paradigm to improve orthostatic fluid shifts and cardiovascular control.
Awardee: Ben Illigens
Presentation: Baroreflex sensitivity impairment during hypoglycemia is associated with an Increase in Interleukin‐6.

The Don Summers Memorial Multiple System Atrophy Travel Awards

Awardee: Jelle de Jong
Presentation: Circadian blood pressure control in afferent versus efferent lesions in the arterial baroreflex.
Awardee:  Ekawat Vichayanrat
Presentation: Cardiovascular autonomic dysfunction in autopsy‐confirmed multiple system atrophy: predictors of bad and good outcome.

AAS‐Lundbeck Research Fellowship Awards

Awardee:  Elizabeth Awe
Presentation: Low bioenergetics in functional disorders parallel disability score.
Awardee:  Meredith Bryarly
Presentation: The prevalence of ganglionic AChR antibodies in postural tachycardia syndrome (POTS).
Awardee:  Jeremy Cutsforth‐Gregory
Presentation: Dysautonomia due to ganglionic nicotinic acetylcholine receptor autoimmunity.
Awardee:  Beatrice De Maria
Presentation: Complexity analysis of cardiovascular oscillations in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
Awardee:  Kristine Chobanyan‐Jűrgens
Presentation: Cardiac pacemaker channel (HCN4) inhibition and atrial arrhythmogenesis following acute relief of cardiac sympathetic activation.
Awardee:  Erin Moir
Presentation: Cardiac autonomic function impairment in concussed adolescents during a sit‐to‐stand protocol.
Awardee:  Matthew Lloyd
Presentation: The pathophysiology of carotid sinus hypersensitivity: sensory block of the sternocleidomastoid muscles does not increase responses to carotid sinus massage.
Awardee:  Sankanika Roy
Presentation: Short‐ and long‐term effects of Fingolimod on cardiovagal gain in patients with relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis.
Awardee:  Fernanda Valerio‐Silva
Presentation: Pure autonomic failure and Lewy body dementia: red flags of evolution to a widespread alpha synucleinopathy.
Awardee:  Vera Ellen‐Lucci
Presentation: Bowel management and quality of life following spinal cord injury: the influence of autonomic dysreflexia.
Awardee:  Jorge Celedonio
Presentation: Assessment of Vascular Endothelial Function in Postural Tachycardia Syndrome and Healthy Controls


2015 Joint Meeting of the International Society for Autonomic Neuroscience (ISAN), European Federation of Autonomic Societies (EFAS), American Autonomic Society (AAS) and Japan Society of Neurovegetative Research (JSNR) (Stresa, Italy)

Streeten Travel Fellowship Award

Awardee: Markus Amann
Presentation: Group III/IV muscle afferents impair limb blood flow in patients with chronic heart failure

Penaz-Wesseling Travel Awards

Awardee: Mark Badrov
Presentation: Effects of healthy aging and coronary artery disease on sympathetic axonal recruitment strategies during prolonged end-inspiratory apnoea.
Awardee: Jill Barnes
Presentation: MSNA during hypercapnia in young and older adults.

The Don Summers Memorial Multiple System Atrophy Travel Award

Awardee: Sarah Berini
Presentation: Pure autonomic failure – predictors of conversion to clinical CNS involvement.
Awardee: Jose-Alberto Palma
Presentation: Hypotension-induced vasopressin release distinguishes Lewy body disorders from multiple system atrophy.

AAS-Lundbeck Research Fellowship Awards

Awardee: Rasna Sabharwal
Presentation: Inhibition of sympathetic activity by rilmenidine reverses angiotensin II-induced hypertension, blood pressure variability and cardiac remodelling.
Awardee: Walter Holbein
Presentation: Experimental sleep restriction blunts baroreflex sensitivity in healthy individuals.
Awardee: Phill Bokiniec
Presentation: Polysialic acid control neuronal activity in the nucleus of the solitary tract influencing the tonic and reflex control of blood pressure.
Awardee: Eduardo Cafarchio
Presentation: Cholinergic activation of brain stem neurons increases intravesical pressure mediated by vasopressin release in female rats.
Awardee: Christina Fuente Mora
Presentation: Orthostatic cerebral blood flow and symptoms in patients with familial dysautonomia.
Awardee: Katelyn Norton
Presentation: The neuroprotective effects of endurance training on the aging brain.
Awardee: Milena Deolindo
Presentation: Involvement of CB1 and TRPV1 receptors of the ventrolateral periaqueductal gray in physical stress-evoked cardiovascular responses in rats.
Awardee: Igor Fernandes
Presentation: Α1-adrenergic blockade modifies the regulation of brain blood flow during static handgrip exercise.
Awardee: Michael Brian
Presentation: Acute and chronic increases in serum sodium and blood pressure variability in normotensive humans
Awardee: Valeria Iodice
Presentation: Small fibre neuropathy and collagen IV reduction in POTS and joint hypermobility syndrome.


2014 25th International Symposium of the American Autonomic Society (Rio Grande, Puerto Rico)


Streeten Travel Fellowship Award

Awardee: Nadia Maruyama
Presentation: The role of 17β-estradiol in the RVLM of renovascular hypertensive rats.

Penaz-Wesseling Travel Awards

Awardee: Jorge Celedonio
Presentation: Effects of high sodium intake on blood volume and catecholamines in patients with postural tachycardia syndrome and healthy females.
Awardee: Amy Arnold
Presentation: Sympathetically-mediated low frequency fluctuations in blood pressure occur independent of baroreflex function in autonomic failure.

The Don Summers Memorial Multiple System Atrophy Travel Award

Awardee: Elizabeth Coon
Presentation: Survival in multiple system atrophy: insights from a large retrospective cohort.


No comments so far!
Comments are closed