Membership Overview

The American Autonomic Society (AAS) is a community that brings together individuals from diverse disciplines who share an interest in the structure and function of the autonomic nervous system and in the pathology, treatment, and prevention of disorders of the autonomic nervous system.

Membership Eligibility: Our membership includes students, educators, clinicians and researchers from different disciplines (neurology, clinical pharmacology, internal medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, endocrinology, physiology). The common bond that our members share is a reliance on the function- and structured-oriented discipline of the autonomic nervous system in health and disease. By bringing together different disciplines of clinical care and biomedical research, the AAS enables all members to benefit to foster collaborations across disciplines as we study the pathology, develop treatments, and strive for prevention and the optimal treatment of disorders of the autonomic nervous system.

Membership Options

Dues are for the calendar year and will entitle you to a subscription to Clinical Autonomic Research*. In addition, registration fees for the Society’s annual meeting will be greatly reduced for members. *CAR subscription is included with Regular, Allied Health/Non-profit, and New Investigator membership only.

  • Regular Member

  • USD$350/year
  • Allied Health/Non-Profit

  • USD$175/year
  • New Investigator Membership

  • USD$175/year
  • (0-5 yrs after training)
  • Trainee/RRC

  • USD$50/year
  • (verify trainee status)

Individuals from resource-restricted countries (RRC) may qualify for a discount.

Contact ( for details.

Access to the Scientific and Clinical Community

Professional and Career Development

Publication Benefits*

  • Membership includes access to Clinical Autonomic Research, the official journal of the AAS
  • Preferred invitations to submit review articles in Clinical Autonomic Research
  • Opportunities to serve on the editorial board of Clinical Autonomic Research

*Regular, Allied Health, and New Investigator Members Only



% Trainee Members


Countries Represented (Lifetime)


Current Members


Lifetime Members to Date


% Trainee Members


Countries Represented (Lifetime)


Current Members


Lifetime Members to Date


We encourage members to join one of our committees or sections. Any AAS member is welcome to join. If you are interested in joining an AAS committee or section, please message the AAS and we will add you to the roster or submit your name to the committee chair for consideration. Self-nominations for committees should be submitted before the end of December.


Pediatric Dysautonomia Section: Dr. Debra Weese-Mayer

Women in Autonomics Special Interest Group: Dr. Amanda Peltier

Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS) Section: Dr. Howard Snapper

Allied Health Professionals Special Interest Group: Erin Marriott


Meeting Committee: Dr. Alex Barboi

Communications Committee: Dr. Rob Larson

Nomination Committee: Dr. Steve Vernino

Development Committee: Dr. Amanda Peltier

Finance Committee: Dr. Howard Snapper

Education Committee: Dr. Glen Cook

Membership Committee: Dr. Victoria Claydon

Science Committee: Dr. Guillaume Lamotte

Trainee Affairs Committee: Dr. Erin Williams

Clinical Affairs Committee: Dr. Melissa Cortez