The Felicia Axelrod Investigator Award


Due to the unique circumstances of the 2020 meeting, we are not currently accepting applications for the Felicia Axelrod award.  Please check back in April 2021 for updated opportunities.

The AAS’ Felicia Axelrod Investigator Award will recognize an outstanding scientist with a track record of significant contributions to the field of autonomic science at the Assistant Professor level. This award acknowledges excellence in autonomic research for an individual poised to be the next leader in this field. Applicants should have a faculty appointment at a rank of Assistant Professor or a comparable position at an academic institution or in the industry (e.g. Scientist, Research Investigator etc.). The applicant must be an AAS member in good standing.


Please submit to Amber Millen:



Eligibility Criteria
– Investigators active in any area of autonomic research that has made an important contribution to the field. Candidates include PhDs and/or MDs
– Academic rank of Assistant Professor or a comparable position at an academic institution or in the industry (e.g. Scientist, Research Investigator etc.).
– Applicant must be a member of the AAS in good standing.
– Previous winners of the Axelrod Award are not eligible to re-enter the competition in subsequent years.
– There are no citizenship requirements.


Evaluation Criteria
The AAS Membership Committee will judge applications based on the applicant’s Biosketch, submitted research statement, and overall contributions to autonomic research.


Application Materials
The following items must be submitted for consideration for this award:
– NIH Biosketch or similar brief biographical document (5-page limit)
– Brief personal statement including a description of the current and pending research program (1-page limit statement of purpose)
– A maximum of 3 reprints either as first or corresponding/senior author
– Two letters of recommendation detailing overall contributions of the applicant to the field of autonomic research


The awardee will receive the following:
– Complimentary registration to the AAS meeting.
– A plaque commemorating the award and a $2,000 honorarium at the AAS meeting.
– Invited submission of a review article for Clinical Autonomic Research by June 1st following the meeting.
– A brief presentation of research at the AAS Meeting



About this award
Dr. Felicia B. Axelrod was a founding member of the AAS and former President of the Society. She was a pioneer of international collaborative rare disease research in autonomic medicine. She founded the Dysautonomia Center at New York University School of Medicine in 1969. She devoted her medical career to the care of patients with familial dysautonomia, a rare genetic disease that affects the development of the autonomic nervous system. As a member of the American Autonomic Society, she co-founded the pediatric specialist group, which is dedicated to supporting clinical care and research in pediatric conditions that affect the autonomic nervous system. She was an active member of the Society, until her retirement in 2015.